Fr  /  En

The organisation



The Beginning

It started in April 2010 when Shalini Shanmugalingam and Ilias Panchard, young students living in Switzerland, decided to found and association aiming to build humanitarian infrastructures in Nepal, one of Asia’s poorest countries. From the beginning, some friends believed in us and help us out. Gabriel Scheder is one of them, actual treasurer.








Ilias Panchard Gabriel Scheder Shalini Shanmugalingam

We have always been interested by history, politics and everything related to news in general. After numerous discussions about poverty, global warming or access to health and education, we decide to take action, because nothing happens only by talking. So we decided to launch ourselves in this humanitarian project.

Present Day

We are currently gathering the necessary funds for our first project by selling merchandise made in Nepal, selling pastries and of course the generosity of donators.

Our partner in Nepal, M. Rajju Pradhan, is searching for schools who could receive help in the area of Kathmandu. The aim is to give children access to education through various projects.

The Future

Construction of the first school is steadily growing. It should be built in the village of Mangalpur in the district of Chitwan on one hectare square of land. The project is going forward in Nepal (land, finances, materials and of course children for the school) and in Switzerland (finances, advertisement, news).




"We know it well that none of us acting alone can achieve success."
Nelson Mandela




©2011 WDCL, Where Do the Children Learn. Tous droits réservés.

Fr  /  En

Naissance de WDCL



Au début

Nous, Shalini Shanmugalingam et Ilias Panchard, jeunes étudiants établis en Suisse avons décidé en avril 2010 de fonder une association dans le but de construire des infrastructures humanitaires au Népal, l'un des pays d'Asie les plus pauvres économiquement. Dès le lancement du projet, plusieurs connaissances ont cru en nous et nous ont soutenu à l'instar de Gabriel Scheder, actuel trésorier de l'association.








Ilias Panchard Gabriel Scheder Shalini Shanmugalingam

Nous avons toujours été intéressé par l'histoire, la politique et ce qui touche à l'actualité en général. Après de nombreuses discussions communes autour de sujets liés à la pauvreté, au réchauffement climatique ou encore à l'accès aux soins et à l'éducation, nous nous sommes dits que les solutions ne se trouvaient pas dans les discours, mais dans les actions concrètes et pragmatiques. Ainsi donc, nous avons décidé de nous lancer dans ce projet de construction d'infrastructures humanitaires.

Présent

Actuellement, nous sommes en train de récolter les fonds nécessaires pour notre premier projet en vendant des articles du Népal, en organisant des ventes de pâtisseries et en comptant sur la générosité des donateurs.

Notre partenaire népalais, M.Rajju Pradhan, recherche des écoles à soutenir dans la région de Kathmandu. Le but serait d'aider à améliorer l'accès à l'éducation dans une région à travers divers projets.

Futur

Le projet de construction de la première école est en train de mûrir. Elle devrait se faire sur un terrain d'1 ha situé dans le village de Mangalpur, district de Chitwan. Le projet se construit petit à petit tant dans l'élaboration du projet au Népal (terrain, budget, matériaux, nombre d'élèves) que dans le travail effectué en Suisse (recherche de partenaires et de fonds, publicité, presse).




"Aucun de nous ne peut atteindre le succès en agissant seul"
Nelson Mandela




©2011 WDCL, Where Do the Children Learn. Tous droits réservés.